top of page

Emily Sigglekow's Journey Towards Positive Body Image.


This is her story.

My journey towards a positive body image was a long one, but I got there in the end! My journey starts right back when I was a child in primary school. I had never been a slim girl, and I noticed from a young age that I was a lot bigger than others my age. I was a dancer, and I did dance competitions on the regular. Being surrounded by slim girls in leotards was a pretty big pressure as a young child as I couldn’t understand why I looked different.

This continued right on into my teen years, with similar experiences. The older I got, the more it affected me. I would keep thinking about what I had done wrong and how all of my friends and peers seemed to look perfect and I didn’t.




I always struggled with food, but I couldn’t be the only one who struggled this way? I would go shopping with my friends, and I couldn’t try on anything when my friends were. Firstly, because we shopped at different stores, and secondly because I was always too embarrassed by the way I looked in clothes.

This meant that I spent most of my teenage years embarrassed by my looks and completely confused and upset by my body. Not only did I have to deal with the increased awareness of my body as I got older, but social media was also a big contributor to the way I felt. As much as I tried to admit that I didn’t care what I looked like in comparison, deep down inside I did.

Being a dancer, the pressure was even more than the average teen. I would constantly be told by my teachers that I needed to work harder, harder than everyone else because I had limitations. I was told that I would never be able to succeed in the dancing world, which to be honest it was true, but it was my passion. Fortunately, I never gave up, but it did take a toll on my body image.


When I entered young adulthood, I started finding really positive communities where people supported each other and I could move into space where I really loved my body. I will admit that this took a lot of time and practice, but I got there eventually. I found that if I used my social media in a positive way, and I used the energies of those around me, the better I was able to help myself feel.

Now, please don’t think I feel perfect about my body all the time now, because that’s far from the truth. I still have moments where I think why me?! But, I have an appreciation for what my body can do, what it’s been through, and what I can do about it. It isn’t always easy sailing, but when you start to love yourself for who you are, both inside and out, it’s definitely an easier road.


Check out her Instagram and blog:


If you want to share your story, send me a message on info@sedijalejietebrand.com and let's bring more awareness of the importance of a positive body image together!

bottom of page